Unified Action – October 2013 – November 5 Municipal Election

Talk to 5 Friends about the November 5 Election

Sponsored by the PVA Executive Committee, pva@pva-nm.org

The issue

It’s important that we vote, but it’s also important that we advocate for candidates we believe in. This kind of advocacy is at the heart of the democratic process, and often a friend’s recommendation has tremendous influence on how we vote, especially in municipal elections.

What we are asking

The Unified Action this month is simple. To participate, you contact five friends (in person, by phone, email or regular mail) and urge them to vote on Tuesday, November 5, for the candidate or candidates you believe are most qualified to lead Las Cruces at this time.

Ideally, you will talk with people who may not have made a decision and for whom your recommendation could make a difference.

As always, please email pva.unified.action@gmail.com to tell us “I did it!” when you have completed the action.

Voting Information

Early voting is taking place at City Hall, 700 N. Main St. (in the City Clerk’s office):

Monday to Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and
Saturday(s), October 26 and November 2, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

On November 5, you can vote at any of the following Voting Convenience Centers:

Branigan Library
200 E. Picacho Ave.
Henry Benavidez Center
1045 McClure St.
Doña Ana County Government Center
845 N. Motel Blvd.
Meerscheidt Recreation Center
1600 E. Hadley Ave.
East Mesa Rec. Center
5589 Porter Dr.
 Munson Senior Center
975 S. Mesquite St.
Frank O’Brien Papen Center
(Formerly Mesilla Park Rec Center)
304 W. Bell Ave
Doña Ana Community College
East Mesa Branch

2800 N. Sonoma Ranch Blvd.
Good Samaritan
3011 Buena Vida Cir
 Grace Covenant Church
3111 N. Main St.
Rehabilitation Hospital of So. New Mexico
4441 E. Lohman Ave.
Telshor/Missouri Fire Station
2802 E. Missouri Ave.

District maps and candidates are below. Candidates who have come to a PVA meeting to ask for support have an asterisk* by their name.

Candidates are:

District 3 Councillor
1. Olga Pedroza*
2. Bev Courtney
District 6 Councillor
1. Cecelia H. Levatino
2. J. Mark Cobb*
3. Curtis J. Rosemond
District 5 Councillor
1. Gill M. Sorg*
2. David B. Roewe
Municipal Judge II
1. Kieran F. Ryan
2. Ben A. Longwill

city council map

Print Friendly, PDF & Email